SOLID WASTE DEQ?



RECENT UPDATES

By now, your facility should have received correspondence regarding a new General Permit for Transfer Stations. As indicated in the letter, if you want to continue to be covered under the General Permit, please ensure that you follow all the instructions, including submitting a notice of intent to be covered under the new General Permit by May 31, 2022.

In 2012, the White River Regional Solid Waste Management District began working with county and municipal law enforcement and Arkansas Drug Director Kirk Lane to develop a districtwide, year-round drug drop off program as part of its household hazardous waste program. With the award of a grant from the Arkansas Department of Energy & Environment, Division Environmental Quality, this goal became achievable. The District then surveyed area law enforcement to determine where unmet needs existed for this program. Over a three-year period, the White River District purchased and delivered eleven theft-proof drop boxes to ensure that all ten counties in the district had at least one year-round, no-questions-asked drug drop-off program. This program has been an on-going success story. There are now fifteen drop-off locations in the District's ten counties.

POLICY UPDATES

There were code changes in the last session that will affect licensing for solid waste operators. In 2021, the Arkansas General Assembly made changes to A.C.A. §8-6-901 et. seq. regarding solid waste licensing. The following changes became effective August 1, 2021.

- Apprentice licenses are now renewable. Eligibility requirements include six hours of continuing education.
- Operator license renewal will be done biennially. Beginning July 1, 2022, licenses will expire every two years. New operator licenses will expire June 30, 2024.
- Operators will need twelve hours of continuing education training every two years. (The recommendation is to acquire six hours annually.)
- The \$50 examination fee was changed to a \$50 application fee.

